Governor Romney called it evolution. I call it a self-serving lie.

Like a lot of people in the United States, I can’t wait for this year’s presidential election to finally be over.  I’m tired of the constant stream of negative television advertisements, the incessant ringing of the telephone with pre-recorded messages from politicians, and the hard-lined divisiveness of my country.

We have an awful lot of problems that will never be solved with ten second sound bites aimed at painting one’s opponent a villain hell bent on destroying the country.  Unfortunately, it seems that if a politician doesn’t play that game, it hurts them in the polls.  For whatever reason, the American public still prefers the image of the swaggering tough guy who beats the hell out of his opponent to the detriment of having a civil productive conversation that actually gets at real solutions for the many problems our country faces.

Problems like making good education available and affordable to all Americans, getting ourselves out of the endless pit of war that the previous president so flagrantly got us into, creating decent well paying jobs, energy independence focused on alternatives to fossil fuels, making sure that we don’t spend more than we have, and ensuring a safety net for the poor and elderly.  In my humble opinion, these are the most important issues that our country must grapple with in the coming decades if we are to have any hope of climbing out of the mess that we are in.  I say decades, because these are not problems I’m naive enough to believe can be solved in a short period of time.  It took decades to get us where we are and unfortunately, it may take that amount of time to get us to some place much better.  We can’t always have what we want when we want it.  I learned that as a kid.

Both candidates are talking about these issues in their ten-second sound bites.  But, given the complexity of these issues and the manner in which they are discussed in the political campaign, it’s often hard to trust that the candidates have a plan let alone a means by which to achieve it.  That’s why, for me, I’m voting based on which candidate I believe has his heart in the right place and isn’t simply saying what he thinks I need to hear.  Based on my own personal experience, I do not, nor will I ever trust Mitt Romney.  That’s why I will never vote him.

I recall when Mitt Romney was running for United States Senate against Ted Kennedy that he said he would do a better job of protecting gay rights than Senator Kennedy.  I really liked what I’d heard from this supposedly fiscally conservative socially moderate Republican candidate.  Fast forward to spring of 2004.  The Supreme Judicial Court of Massachusetts had determined that it was unconstitutional to prevent people like my long term partner and I from marrying.  All the while that we were planning our May, 2004 wedding, Governor Romney was doing everything in his power to prevent our marriage.  I believe at my core that he did it because he wanted to eventually run for president.  He said what he had to say to get elected in Massachusetts and then threw the civil rights of gay and lesbian citizens under the bus.  I will never forget what it felt like to be so excited and happy about getting to marry the love of my life juxtaposed against the fear that it could all be pulled out from underneath us at the last minute because of one man’s political ambitions.  He called his change in position evolution. I call it a self-serving lie.

I recognize that blogging about politics is a risk, but the issues of our country are just too important to remain silent.  Wouldn’t it be nice if both parties could set aside the nonsense and really work together to solve our problems.  As long as we either encourage, or let them get away with the nonsense, don’t expect them to do it.  They wouldn’t sell the nonsense if we didn’t buy it.

Peace.

15 thoughts on “Governor Romney called it evolution. I call it a self-serving lie.

  1. Well said, Bev. I believe, for me, there is one issue on the table this election…our civil rights. Thanks for putting into your blog what I have carried in my heart for weeks.

    • Thanks, Penelope. I hope others will realize that civil rights should always be first and foremost in our country. I don’t want to live in a country with an excellent economy that discriminates against its citizens in the name of progress. No way. I didn’t serve in the military for such a thing. Have a great week.

  2. Very nice, Bev, and well said. This country has enormous problems to solve in order to maintain the high standards previous generations have set. Focusing on absurd “made up” issues– denying women’s and LGBT rights, is a distraction, a hot button issue designed to stir up emotions and avoid tough problems. I’m sick of it.

  3. Excellent piece, Bev! Thanks! I am tired of politicians thinking we are stupid and easily manipulated. Of course, as I say that, I realize that many of our fellow citizens are taken in by the lies and bullying of the campaigns. If they weren’t, the politicians wouldn’t spend so much money on them. But, I do believe that ultimately Martin Luther King, Jr. was right when he said, “The moral arc of the universe is long, but it bends toward justice.” It just challenges us to keep speaking the truth and living the truth and challenging our friends and family to stop believing the lies and the hate and the “magic” solutions offered in sound bites. With the possibility of four Supreme Court nominations on the line with this presidential election, there is no way I would even consider voting for someone who lies the way Romney does saying whatever he thinks will get him elected at the moment. His record is too clear and you are right he cannot be trusted. But, enough of my soap box. I am preaching to the choir. Great blog post!

  4. Spot on, Bev. Romney has more Flip Flops than a beach girl’s closet. He is the worst, saying and doing what is needed to gain confidences, and then showing his true monochromatic colors. Smirk and lie; smoke and mirrors, and not to be trusted, ever. Well said, you.

      • 😉 Great blog, Bev. Romney scares the bejezus outta me. And I can’t believe people (especially women) are so gullistupid to follow him. Thanks for a great perspective. Carry on.

  5. Hey, Bev, great blog. You’re right, they say not to write about politics, but I find that I have to talk about what I think is important. Like you, I usually write about lesbian issues, so I figure those who are offended weren’t my audience anyway. People do need to wake up and stop giving this guy a free pass–and let’s not even start about his running mate. It’s good to remind folks of his spineless record. He would be a disaster for lesbians and all women. As Sheila says, “Carry on.”

    • Thanks, Lynette. Despite the caution to authors about writing about politics, I decided that what good are our words if we’re afraid to write about the things that matter most. Thanks for making me feel better about that. You “carry on” too, my friend.

  6. Thanks, Bev. Very well put. I’ve never considered voting for a Republican, which certainly caused some heated discussions while I was in the Marines.

    I think I’ve been most shocked and frustrated by lesbians who are supporters of the Romney/Ryan ticket. I’ve been surprised by so many women, in general, supporting them but for a lesbian to back these candidates is just beyond my comprehension.

    • I agree. Even if the Romney/Ryan ticket could do a better job with the economy, which I highly doubt, at what cost? Gays and lesbians will be among the first groups of people he throws under the bus to appease the radical right who voted for him. I’m afraid for the country that you and I both served in uniform. Thanks for expressing your opinion. Bev

Leave a Reply

