Here’s what’s for dinner: Spinach Salad

I have a new show called the Barbell on the Cocktail Hour podcast with the Rev and Andy.  To check out the show, please visit http://cocktailhour.us/.  Please be sure to leave a comment or contact me with your ideas for subjects you would like for us to discuss.  The next show will be scheduled for June and my guest will be my friend, Nikki Smalls.  We’ll be chatting about some of the documentaries that are available about food and how it impacts our health and environment.  Stayed tuned.  In the meantime, I’ve decided to add to my blog by regularly posting a recipe.  Today I’m starting with a spinach salad.  I’ve included the estimated calories by using caloriecount.com.  You’ll see that the majority of calories come from the walnuts, goat cheese and olive oil.  Eliminate or replace these with other things that you prefer in order to lower the calories should that be your goal.  Also, experiment a little.  Try the salad without the dressing.  The variety of ingredients packs the salad with lots of flavor such that you may not even miss the dressing.   

Per serving of spinach salad (453 calories):

2 cups of fresh baby spinach:  14 calories

2 dried figs chopped: 94 calories

½ cup of cucumbers: 10 calories

1 tbls chopped red onion: 5 calories

½ red pepper chopped: 22 calories

7 walnut halves chopped: 92 calories

1 oz. goat cheese: 76 calories

Dressing:

1 tbl olive oil: 120 calories

2 tbl balsamic vinegar: 20 calories

 

I wish you good health.  Here’s how I get there.  Eat healthy, keep moving, manage stress and “own it.”  Peace.

 

 

9 thoughts on “Here’s what’s for dinner: Spinach Salad

  1. This sounds superb. As a fitness instructor who writes a newsletter for my clients, I am always banging on about healthy eating being a joy, a choice, a handle on your own life, rather than a dreary deprivation. Brilliant.

    • Thanks. I’ve mentioned on the show that I am not an expert in nutrition or exercise, so I view the show as a place to share ideas about healthy living. I really appreciate that you took the time to stop by and weigh in as a fitness instructor. Have a great day!

  2. Fresh spinach is one of our favorite salad ingredients, Bev. Thanks for this variation. For me, moving and eating well are the best ways to help manage my stress. The show sounds like lots of fun.

Leave a Reply

