So long coffee.

I have a confession about an unhealthy addiction to make. 

My spouse and I are planning to go on a trip that is going to involve lots of small boats on potentially very choppy waters.  There’s a good chance that I’ll spend some portion of the trip seasick.  So, I’ve started to think about how I’ll manage the situation.  Things like going to the travel doctor to get some seasickness medicine and reminding myself to drink lots of water.  That got me thinking about coffee.  I like it, a lot.  But, I also know that it’s not a good thing to drink when one is trying to avoid dehydration.  Plus, what if I ended up some place where I couldn’t easily get a good cup of coffee?  I was really worried about going through caffeine withdrawals while dehydrated on vacation in a place that I do not want to have to go see a doctor.  My train of thinking led to the unthinkable idea of giving up coffee.

This is in contrast to one of my favorite times of the day when first thing in the morning I drink a hot cup of coffee.  In fact, coffee has been, up until very recently, something that I never went without.  It was one of those little vices that I hung onto in spite of a healthy diet otherwise.  Now, I’m not per se saying that coffee is unhealthy.  What do I know about the health benefits, or lack thereof, from coffee?  Nothing.  But, here’s what I do know, I was addicted to the stuff.  That became abundantly clear from the enormous headache I got the day that I didn’t drink a cup of coffee.  It felt like my head had been cleaved in two by a blunt ax.  Not nice, at all.  That headache was all I needed to know that the amount of coffee that I was drinking was not good for my body.  So, I mustered through a headache that lasted for a couple of days until I got through to the other side of being caffeine free. 

Besides ridding my body of the caffeine, another really good thing happened.  Instead of a jolt of caffeine, I got a jolt of motivation.  It was a reminder that my quest to eat healthy has everything to do with how I want to wake up in the morning.  For me, good health is not about how I look, or what others think about me, but how I feel inside about my life.  I want to wake up every day feeling rested, healthy, happy, content, and strong, clear headed and ready to take on the day, whatever it brings.  I also don’t want to be a prisoner to unhealthy foods or drinks.  Right now, since my headache has waned along with my caffeine addiction, I’m feeling pretty fantastic.  In keeping with the notion that moderation is a good thing, giving up my morning coffee doesn’t necessarily mean that I’ll never drink the stuff again.  I’m just not going to do it every day such that it becomes an addiction.  I’ll drink it on my terms, not those of its addictive qualities.

Some of you may know that I have a new little show called the Barbell over at Cocktail Hour Productions.  http://cocktailhour.us.  If you’d asked me a year ago whether I thought such a thing was possible, I would have said no.  But, sometimes you never know where you’re going to end up.  Not only am I motivated about my own health, I’m motivated to share in a discussion with others that might help us all wake up feeling rested, happy, content, strong, clear headed and healthy.  The next show will be recorded on June 13.  My good pals, wicked cool Nikki of Cocktail Hour Productions’ Flicks and Swizzle Sticks, and the always awesome cofounder of Cocktail Hour Productions, Andy, will be joining me to chat about two really informative documentaries on health.  They are “Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead” and “Forks Over Knives.”  Both are available at Netflix. 

Until then, eat healthy, keep moving, manage stress and own it.  There are few things in this life that we can control.  One of them is how we take care of our bodies.  Peace.

    

15 thoughts on “So long coffee.

  1. Gosh, goodbye to anything but coffee. However, I will cut down on my intake. Great Blog! I love that you keep reminding us – much about health is our own decision to ruin, repair, or regard. Thanks, Bev!

  2. Good job, Bev! I cut way back on my caffeine consumption a few years ago. I still have a cup nearly every day – and by cup I mean my 20 oz travel mug – but when that one is gone, I’m done for the day. I sip on that cup for at least an hour while I work my way through my regular morning work routine.

    On the weekends, I use a smaller mug and have two or three cups so it works out to be about the same as my weekday routine. My wife, on the other hand, consumes a load of coffee and at least one sugar-free Red Bull every day. Unlike her, I’m happy with decaf, too.

    Own that Coffee Addiction!

    • Thanks, Rev! I’ll have to think about decaf coffee. Part of the attraction for me is sipping warm coffee in the morning, especially on the weekends. Maybe that’s what I’ll do is have a small cup of decaf on weekend mornings. Hey! You helped me a lot. Thanks.

  3. Hey Bev,

    I cut back from about 8 cups a day to one cup most days. I drink herb teas most of the time now or water. I have “Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead” and really enjoyed the docu. We got a juicer at the time we purchased the movie. Very motivating. Now we are working on incorporating juicing as part of our regular diet. Will have to check out the “Forks Over Knives” docu. Looking forward to your show on the Cocktail Hour channel 🙂

    • Hi Marie,
      You’ll have to let us know what some of your favorite juicing recipes are at some point. I suspect that there might be some interest generated in juicing from the discussion about the documentary. I’ll have to incorporate more herbal teas into my diet. I really like to have something hot to drink in the morning. That could do the trick. Thanks so much for stopping by. I look forward to hearing from you again about the juicing or whatever else you have to say. Have a great rest of the evening.

  4. Hey, Bev, I gave up coffee years ago because it started making my heart beat fast, and my friends say I am already so hyper that the world is not ready for me to have caffeine. At first it was one of my harder addictions to get a hold on. Then after the headaches and withdrawal, I pulled through. If it is about giving up coffee and not just the caffeine, you can probably get used to tea. I drink decaf tea and decaf coffee but the truth is they are both much better with caffeine in them. I am wracking up the abandoned addictions: caffeine, women (not my choice), tobacco, speeding (not my choice), fast carbs, large quantities of sweets, GMOs (as is possible) etc…..

  5. I’ve cut way back on my coffee the past year. Used to have it throughout the day but now just have a medium latte in the morning with soy milk. I love my espresso machine.

    • Sounds good. I was only having it in the morning, but in one of those big travel mugs. It was enough to become a problem. I’m thinking I might do decaf herbal tea in the morning during the workweek and then decaf coffee on the weekends. I really do like having a cup of coffee in the morning. I just don’t want to be addicted to the stuff. That’s great that you have an espresso machine. You can make things just the way you like them for a fraction of the cost. Have a great night.

  6. Always thought coffee very overrated myself, it smells nicer than it tastes. Stopped having a coffee every day about 12 years ago when one of my sons was told to stop drinking it due to a heart condition. Prefer herbal of fruit teas now, although I do treat myself to the odd mocha coffee when out with friends!

    • Hi Beni, hope your son is doing okay now. I like the idea of drinking herbal teas instead. I’m going to do just that. Thanks so much for stopping by. Have a great day.

  7. If you ever do need a little shot of caffeine, some brands offer a half-caff coffee. Or you could create your own by blending the two.

    I’ll try to check out those documentaries before the next Barbell.

Leave a Reply

